SPM Landmarks & Monuments
When going to Saint-Pierre & Miquelon, make sure you pack your camera! The local flavor and exceptional beauty of Saint-Pierre & Miquelon, combined with the unique and original landscape of the surrounding islands provide extraordinary subject matter for enthusiasts and professional photographers alike.
Saint-Pierre Cathedral - Map E3 (1)
The original Saint-Pierre Cathedral had been burned to the ground during the 1902 fire. It was rebuilt between 1905 and 1907 and is located on the same land as Saint-Pierre's original church from 1690.
Saint-Pierre's Cathedral was built in the style of Basque churches with the featured upper galleries with stain glass windows close to 100 years old; with the exception of those located in the transept. These windows were a gift from General Charles de Gaulle and unveiled during his visit in 1967.
The steeple was rebuilt in 1975 with sandstone from Alsace, France and rhyolite from Saint-Pierre.
Please remember to show respect when visiting, as while the cathedral is a local landmark it still functions as a place of worship.
Pointe aux Canons Lighthouse - Map F3 (4)
When entering the harbour you will see the most distinctive landmark of Saint-Pierre. Painted in bright red and white colors is the beloved Pointe aux Canons Lighthouse.
A navigational beacon for ships large and small, this automated lighthouse is not open to the general public but is located at the end of an accessible jetty for picture-takers and scenic drawing. When at the lighthouse, look for the upright canon which dates back to the Crimean War.
Pointe aux Canons Battery - Map E3 - F3 (5)
The Pointe aux Canons Battery is located just before the jetty to the lighthouse on the site of a much older fort that defended the Saint-Pierre & Miquelon islands during the British raids of 1690-1713.
During the 19th century, this modern battery was established as a precautionary measure during the Crimean War.
Les Salines Fishing Stations - Map F2 - F3 (6)
Just a few feet from the Pointe aux Canons lighthouse, the Les Salines or Fishing Stations were built by the Saint-Pierre & Miquelon Government and house the massive equipment of inshore fishermen.
The Les Salines are colourful and unique way of illustrating the a very important aspect of decades old economic life of the local fishing culture.
Situated on the South-East side of the Saint-Pierre island, this Galantry Lighthouse built in the 1970's replaces the original Galantry Lighthouse from the 1800s.
The original Galantry was built atop Galantry Hill, which aviation authorities declared dangerous for approaching aircraft. It was demolished in 1978 much to the regret of the islanders.
The new Galantry Lighthouse is a modern lighthouse and can be seen from at least 20 miles away. The frequently used Fog Horn is one of the beloved sounds of the town which tourists look forward to hearing on their visits to Saint-Pierre.
Saint-Pierre Post Office - Map D4 - E4 (2)
The Alsatian style of architecture was brought to Saint-Pierre in the early decades of the 20th century. Shaped like a praying monk, the Saint-Pierre Post Office clock tower looks over the General de Gaulle square.
The Saint-Pierre Post Office is open to the general public during regular business hours.
General Charles de Gaulle Square - Map D4 - E4
Located near the inner harbour of Saint-Pierre, the General Charles de Gaulle Square is where the French Tricolor is raised on Bastille Day.
General Charles de Gaulle Square is the center of festivity on Bastille Day with music, games, food and wine and a view of the Atlantic ocean that canot be beat.
Several landmarks within the squarare of interest such as the Old Fountain and the Gazebo.
Fronton "Zazpiak Bat" - Map D2 - E2 (10)
Since many Saint-Pierrais and Miquelonnais are of Basque Heritage, Basque tradtions abound adding to the local flavor.
A type of handball called Pelote basque, a traditional Basque sport, is played against this massive outdoor wall.
Zazpiak Bat is Basque for "The Seven Make One", this refers to the seven Basque Provinces located in Spain: Alava, Guipuzkoa, Navarra, Biscaya; and France: Basse Navarre, Soule and Labourd.
The Government District - Map D3
Built around the Church Square named after Bishop François Maurer are the Judicial, Political and Administrative buildings of Saint-Pierre. They are the Palais de Justice or Courthouse, the Conseil Général which houses the local parliament and the Préfecture or Governor's Offices. Saint-Pierre & Miquelon are a Collectivité Territoriale de la République, this means the local government has a large measure of autonomy on issues including but not limited to natural resources, taxation and custom duties. These buildings are not open to the general public.
Saint-Pierre Cemetery - Map A4 - B4 (8)
This is Saint-Pierre's fourth cemetery. Located on a gentle slope, thousands of monuments are built above ground in a style unique in North America. The Cemetery is open at all times.
Please show respect when visiting.
The Cross - Map C3 (9)
Built on a hill at the heart of the town, the Calvaire Cross is a powerful reminder of Saint-Pierre & Miquelon's catholic heritage.
You can walk to this site quite easily and the hill gives you a great vantage point over Saint-Pierre.
The War Memorial - Map C4 (7)
Situated behind the Musée Archives, the War Memorial is a testiment to the sacrifice that was made by the islanders in two world wars. While France was occupied by German troops after 1940, these islands were liberated by the Free French Forces of General de Gaulle in december 1941, an event described at the times as the "Best Christmas Present" by the New York Times. The War Memorial is open at all times.
The Fort - Map B3 (12)
Build during World War II as a surveillance outpost, this old concrete ditch is all that remains of the fortifications that were undertook by the Free French Forces of General de Gaulle.
The Lebailly Blacksmith Shop - Map D2
Saint-Pierre last remaining Blacksmith Shop in Saint-Pierre is not yet open to the public but makes for great outdoor photography. The unique collection of tools will be restored for the benefit of future enthusiasts.
The Cutty Sark Villa
Built exclusively with panels of wood from Cutty Sark Whiskey Crates, this villa is a landmark from the era of American Prohibition. This building is privately owned and not open to the public. Tour operators will point it out during excursions.
The Town of Miquelon - Map
Miquelon is a town of 700 inhabitants who's history and culture is intertwined with that of Acadia. Shortly after the Acadian deportation of 1755, hundreds of Acadian families sought refuge here. Today, the town of Miquelon is proud of its heritage, natural landmarks and history.
The Church - Map C4 (1)
Miquelon's wooden church is a beautiful traditional building with many old artifacts. The Church is open at limited times.
Please show respect when visiting, this is a place of worship.
The Lighthouse - Map A4 (4)
On the Western side of Miquelon town, the Phare du Cap Blanc is another active navigating beacon built atop a granite hill.
The Cemetery - Map B4 - C4 (3)
Miquelon's Cemetery is where the Baroness de l'Espérance was buried in the late 18th century. The Cemetery is open at all times. Please show respect when visiting.
The northermost point of the island of Miquelon, is know as the Cap. The breathtaking scenery is only surpassed by incredible diversity of wildlife.
The Grand Barachois
On the southern shore of Miquelon, the Grand Barachois is an exceptional lagoon because of its size and because of the diversity of wildlife present.
The Church - Map B5 (1)
Notre Dame des Marins is the dominant building on this small island. Built in 1874, it is still used for special services.
Access is limited to Guided Tours. Please show respect when visiting.
The Transpacific Shipwreck - Map C4 (7)
On the North-East side of the island, the Transpacific Hull shifts every year due to strong gale winds and winter storms. This sculpture of rusted iron is visible for miles and makes for wonderful photography.
The Battery - Map B3 (4)
On the North-West side of the island, this battery was built at the same time as the Pointe aux Canons battery.
The Cemetery - Map B6 (8)
Much older than Saint-Pierre's cemetery, Ile aux Marin Cemetery is picturesque. The Cemetery is open at all times.
Please show respect when visiting.
Wildlife and geology
Langlade is the most geologically diverse of all the islands. Steep cliffs, small forests and wildlife are abundant on Langlade.
Langlade's lone Chapel is used by cottagers and visitors alike. The Chapel is open at very limited times. Please show respect when visiting, this is a place of worship.
Le Phare de la Pointe Plate is the most inacessible lighthouse of the islands. A 20 mile hike along the western side of Langlade will get you to an isolated craggy shore.